The Legislature, or The Parliament of the United Republic of Tanzania, consists of two parts, i.e. the President and the National Assembly. The President exercises authority vested in him by the Constitution to assent to bills passed  by Parliament in order to complete the enactment process before they become law.

This section gives you comprehensive information pertaing the  National Assembly which is the principal organ of the United Republic and has authority on behalf of the people to oversee and advise the Government of the United Republic and all its organs in the discharge of their respective responsibilities.The National Assembly consists of four categories of Members of Parliament, namely Members elected directly to represent constituencies across mainland Tanzania and Zanzibar. Five members elected by the House of Representatives from among its members;The Attorney General;Ten members nominated by the and Women members being not less than fifteen percent of the members of all other categories on the basis of proportional representation President among those parties in the Parliament. This section provides detailed information on The National Assembly, Clerk's Accountability, Parliament Composition, Question and Answers, Bill Tracking, Parliamentary Commemitees, History, Members of Parliament and Parliamentary Proceedings.

According to Article 66 of the Constitution of the United Republic of Tanzania (1977) Tanzania Parliament consists of the following categories of members; Members elected to represent constituencies; Women members whose number shall increase progressively starting with twenty per cent of the members named in sub-paragraphs (1), (3) and (4) of this Article, elected by the political parties that are represented in the National Assembly in terms of Article 78 of the Constitution and on the basis of proportional representation amongst those parties, five members elected by the Zanzibar House of Representatives from among its members, the Attorney General and not more than ten members appointed by the President.

The National Assembly in discharging its functions is assisted by the Parliamentary Services Commission, Standing Committees and the Secretariat of the National Assembly. The main functions of the National Assembly are: 1) To put any question to any Minister concerning public affairs in the United  Republic which are within his/her responsibility; 2) To debate on the performance of each Ministry during the annual budget session of the National Assembly; 3) To deliberate upon and authorize any long or short-term plan which is intended to be implemented in the United Republic and enact a a law /regulation to regulate the implementation of that plan; 4) To enact legislation where implementation requires legislation; and 5) to deliberate upon and ratify all treaties and agreements to which United Republic is party to and the provisions of which require ratification.

In addition to enacting laws that apply to the entire United Republic of Tanzania, the Assembly enacts laws that apply only to the Mainland; Zanzibar has its own House of Representatives to make laws especially for Zanzibar (the Zanzibar House of Representatives has 50 seats, directly elected by universal suffrage to serve five year terms).